2017 Annual Meeting Focuses on Teamwork

Home » News » 2017 Annual Meeting Focuses on Teamwork

At the Gainesville Area Chamber’s 2017 Annual Meeting — presented by CHW — on Jan. 31, 2017 Board Chair Rory Causseaux reviewed the Chamber’s successes over the last year, including the recruitment of 268 new members, the announcement of nearly 700 new jobs and more. Chair Causseaux also recognized the role of earlier successes achieved under the leadership of 2016 Board Chair Todd Powell and 2015 Board Chair John Carlson in establishing the Greater Gainesville region as a global hub of talent, innovation and opportunity.  Chair Causseaux called on attendees to make 2017 the year in which Greater Gainesville moves forward together as a team to forge a global future. To underscore the theme of teamwork, three-time Superbowl Champion and four-time Bob Lilly Award recipient Bill Bates delivered the keynote address.

The Chamber also recognized several leaders during the program:

  • Citizen of the Year: Dr. Kent Fuchs, President, University of Florida
  • Chairman’s Award: Dr. Jackson Sasser, President, Santa Fe College
  • Chamber Diplomat of the Year: Steve Burroughs, Crime Prevention Security Systems

As is tradition, The Rotary Club also presented Hawes Adams, President of Association Realty Services with its Ethics in Business Award at the Annual Meeting.

View the WCJB News story here.  Event photos may be viewed here.

Engage in Our Business Community

Put the Greater Gainesville Chamber to work for your business now.

Become A Member